Online Databases






Contact Info:
408 West Main Street
Collinsville, IL 62234

Phone: 618-344-1112
FAX: 618-345-6401

E-mail: cve@lcls.org

Ask A Librarian

Instant Message me for reference when I am online.
How to IM Me |
No IM Software?

 

Online Research Databases
These databases are important tools to help you do research from your home computer.

Mississippi Valley Library District's
Virtual Library

created by the Collinsville Librarians to give authoritative links
to websites that are helpful in giving important information.



General Reference Databases:

https://www.lcls.org:2443/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/FSIP
The
FirstSearch service provides online access to a growing list of popular, up-to-date databases. FirstSearch contains references to items such as: Books, sound recordings, videocassettes, musical scores, archives, manuscripts, computer files, maps, audiovisuals, and other sources for Journal and magazine articles, Facts and statistics, Dissertations and conference proceedings.



EBSCO is a collection of full text magazines, newspapers, and reference books to detailed pamphlets.


Newsbank
Archives from the St. Louis Post Dispatch and America's News Magazines
from NewsBank provide full-text articles from various familiar magazines in
one easy-to-search database. These leading magazines provide coverage and
analysis of current events in a range of categories including: news, business,
entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports.



Gale Reference Library Online reference library that covers subject areas from the Arts to the Social Sciences with over 300 online reference books.


Encyclopædia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica presents Britannica's renowned educational resources in a student-friendly and engaging site designed especially for teachers and elementary, middle, and high school students.



World Book Encyclopedia features thousands of articles, maps, pictures, sounds, and video that are delivered to you over the web. World Book's reference resources are supported by Behind the Headlines articles, Calendar-based features, and the Learning Zone of extra teacher- and student-related resources.
Login: cve408              Password: kahoks



Genealogy Database:

 
Heritage Quest is a growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Beginning or professional genealogists can now use this powerful online library, with original page images for all documents, from the convenience of their home or at the library. Indexes and original page images mean no additional trips, inter-library loan requests or work by researchers or staff.


 

Downloadable Ebooks and Audiobooks:

http://www.netlibrary.com/
Log in using your Library Card Number

Log in using UserName and Password (available by visiting the Library and establishing your login information once from our computers)
Downloadable Audiobooks to your own MP3 player
and Electronic Book (E-Books) Collection
over 10,000 online e-books and audiobooks available for checkout and use.


https://www.lcls.org:2443/login?url=https://www.lcls.org:2443/OverDrive/mississippi Listen Illinois
Downloadable Audiobooks to your own MP3 player



Various Specialized Databases:


Novelist is an electronic reader's advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.


World Atlas
Statistics, Data, Maps and more for a current view of the world.

Science Online
All types of Science topics are covered plus experiments, diagrams, biographies, timelines and videos.

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online
Read about the lives of world famous writers; Study the great works of world literature from novels, short stories, poems and plays to important works of nonfiction; Access a chronology of events in world literature; and Browse the entries of literary criticism on topics and themes.

Or use the Facts On File online database portal page URL for World Atlas; Science Online; and Bloom’s Literary Reference:


World News Digest -- 1980 to the PresentFacts on File Issues and Controversies
A History and Current Events Database that answers questions about events, issues, statistics and people of the last 60+ years.  


Chilton Library Online
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.

Testing and Education Center
College Search, Graduate Search, Specialty & Career Program Search and Test Preparation

Legal Forms
Forms available on Thomson Gale LegalForms include forms drafted by attorneys for a particular legal matter, forms from public records and participating companies and attorneys. "Official" forms for many states are also included.

Price It! Antiques and Collectibles
Online Auction includes eBay.com and GoAntiques Live Auctions results
Online Retail includes Goantiques.com and TIAS
Auction House data is from select Auction Houses



In Library Use Only Databases:

Due to restrictions given to us by these companies, we cannot provide these databases outside of our building. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause you.

Ancestry.Com - database on Brand name and Generic drugs, Interactions of drugs, Herbal Medicines and the Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
In Library Use Only - Available in the Media Center



Consumer Reports - Ratings and information accumulated by the foremost Consumer Adovocate known.
In Library Use Only - Available in the Media Center


Value Line Stock Resource - publishes more than a dozen print and electronic products which we believe are utilized by more than half-a-million investors for timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles.
In Library Use Only - Available in the Media Center
Web Design by: Silver Leaf Design.net